Mayfly Award

Mayfly Award 2013 by Michael BestwickThe Pennsylvania Abandoned Mine Reclamation (AMR) Conference’s coveted “Mayfly Award” recognizes individuals who have dedicated a lifetime of knowledge and expertise to the reclamation of abandoned mines in Pennsylvania.  The mayfly was selected as the symbol for this award because its presence in a stream signifies clean water.

The tradition of giving out the “Mayfly Award” started with the 2007 Conference and the list of Awardees has grown to represent a group
of distinguished individuals.Mayfly Dun by Steve Kardos

2007 – R. John Dawes
& Louise Dunlap

2008 – Margaret Dunn
& Russ Wagner

2009 – Dr. Robert S. Hedin, Ph. D.
& Dr. Arthur Rose

2010 – J. Scott Roberts

2011 – Dave HessMayfly Award 2012 by Michael Bestwick

2012 – Bernard J. McGurl
& Robert Eppley

2013 – Bruce Leavitt

2014 – Pam Milavec

2015 – Art Grguric

2016 – Joe Pizarchik

2017 – Tom Grote & Ed Wytovich

2018 – …

Who will the Awardee(s) be this year?  Come to the Conference to find out!

Each Mayfly Award is a unique piece of art.  Our current artist is:  TBD